Reviews

7.3
Review score

Score Breakdown

Cleanliness
6.8
Comfort
7.0
Property location
7.6
Facilities
7.1
Staff
8.5
Value
6.8

Reviews

    Marieke
    nl

    Review score

    6.7
    30 April 2018

    A hostel with potential

    The room I stayed in was not clean, the bed was hard and it was right next to the stairs which made a lot of noice. I would really encourage the young people who run this hostel te improve the place step by step, paint the walls, renovate, clean up all the mess around the property, hire an expert to do the cleaning!
    The staff is friendly and the location of the hostel is very nice for cheap food and great acces to public transportation. This hostel could easily improve to a 9 with some effort!
    Dorothea
    de

    Review score

    7.1
    28 February 2018

    Good place to stay in Xiamen, takes foreigners, nice area with good food and vibe.

    The hostel is really basic, a bit shabby, but nice. The rooms could have cleaner and could need a renovation. The bathrooms are Chinese with squatting toilets with the shower above.
    The staff was super friendly and helpful. The area of the hostel is really nice with good and cheap food. The location of the hostel is very good, a bit outside the city but right next to a bus stop. It's close to the beach as well. When arriving it can be a bit tricky to find, so accept their offer to pick you up the first time. After that it's no problem. You can wash your clothes there for free.
    Chantelle
    za

    Review score

    8.3
    17 February 2018
    Friendly, helpful staff. Very close to the bus route and any shops around to get street food from. Very good location.
    Jonas
    de

    Review score

    8.3
    8 January 2018

    Cheap eats and less touristy.

    WiFi could be better. If you have bad luck, the trip to/from the city can take up to an hour during peak traffic hours (maybe 15 to 20 mins if traffic is normal), so avoid these times and you are fine.
    Really nice hostel next to the campus of Xiamen. This means cheap and good food options around the hostel. Hostel staff is nice and helpful and there is a nice courtyard (in winter it may be a little bit to cold to sit there). Good and relaxed atmosphere. Three buses are going to the city centre.
    de

    Review score

    8.8
    2 December 2017
    It's very hard to find. I took a taxi and the driver couldn't find it. There is no sign at all. If you can't call the staff you should ask someone for help. My bathroom was next to a gym. It was a little bit noisy.
    The staff was very nice and friendly. The room was okay. Nothing special, a normal dorm. The bathroom was okay too.
    de

    Review score

    7.9
    3 November 2017
    nothing but it is a little far off but anyway the bus to the city center is in front of the house. So 1 yuan and you are in the center 15 min later :)
    atmosphere, staff, common area, close to the beach
    cn

    Review score

    9.6
    4 October 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Olimjon
    tr

    Review score

    10
    25 July 2017

    In conclusion I can surely say that the hostel is excellent.

    The only little problem was wifi hadn't been stable especially in the evenings.
    I stayed in this hostel almost 23 days.Firstly I would like to say that the personal was very kind and helpful.They did everything for the comfort of the guests. Special thanks to Malu and Tabi, especially for Malu for her care and giving me needed medicine when I was sick. And with Tabi also we had a great time. He offered me Chinese beer and local wine. That was really good. I appreciate that. And what about the property, it is located in very good place. Bus stop was very near and there are many local restaurants including halal food and as well as many shops and of course street food around. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Each room has an air conditioner.
    Zebbie
    nl

    Review score

    5.4
    31 May 2017

    Nice location, helpful staff, but too expensive for almost no facilities.

    The facilities in the dorms (I stayed in a 4p-female dorm) are very poor; no bed light, no decent mattress, no lockers, no ladder to the upper bunk, no curtain, no storage space. Almost never somebody at reception. Bad internet connection. After check out you can not leave property without a key to the front door. No free water. No secure luggage storage after check out. This place has so much potential but vibe and facilities are lacking. The price is way too high for what you get. Pay a little more and you find a nice private room elsewhere.
    The location is very nice; away from the city center but close to the beach, public transport and lot's of shops/restaurants around. The couple running the place speak decent English and are very helpful. The hostel has some nice common areas.
    vladimir
    cn

    Review score

    3.8
    2 May 2017

    Really not good

    The picture looks too great compare to the reality, the house is not a house but a prefab in plastic with zero insulation, it was smelling piss. We choose the "suite" expecting something correct.. it was worth than anything especially when you expect a little bit of comfort. The host could speak good English but really not helpful concerning a trip to the Tulou. To finish she couldn't even offer us a coffee on a morning and there is no coffee shop around. For 70 euros i was expecting a little bit more. i definitely don't recomand this place sorry.
    Maybe the little charm of the courtyard
    RNath35
    fr

    Review score

    5.0
    11 April 2017
    The bathroom maybe too small and not clean every day.
    Nice welcoming ;) good point of wiew on the top. Nice shared spaces
    nl

    Review score

    6.2
    5 November 2016
    The mosquito nets before the windows were broken. It might be because I was the only (foreign) guest a the time, but it felt more like a very basic hotel than a "backpackers hostel"
    Relatively spacious room. Quiet area.
    盈孜
    cn

    Review score

    9.6
    14 August 2016
    Staff was very nice and helpfully Decoration is like Chinese old-fashion or Chinese style
    ARIEL KARELIN
    il

    Review score

    5.8
    6 December 2017

    I feel like thy can ENORMOUSLY upgrade their property by offering clean bedding & precise location

    The staff's English was barely enough for communication. The dorms had a HUGE drawback! The bed felt really unclean, and no bed linen was offered. Also, though navigating to the location is quite easy, the exact spot where the hostel is is hard to find.
    The staff was extremely kind, and the public spaces at the property had a cheerful design. A big plus - though officially the property has a non flexible cancellation policy, the staff cancelled a night I booked by mistake off their own bat. Thank you!
    nz

    Review score

    7.5
    24 November 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Gary Moran
    gb

    Review score

    10
    13 November 2017
    These guys were incredibly hospitable. They showed me and my two friends an excellent time, helped us with problems we didn't even know we had, fetched us food when we were too tired to go out, rain jackets when we didn't have the right clothing, and got us bikes when our own transport plan failed. I would love to come back and stay with them longer.
    scotswhahae
    cn

    Review score

    8.3
    4 October 2016
    hard to find even for my Chinese t axi driver. views from the terrace not so great...
    not near the centre but in a good area with lots of food and drinks. Also near the beach and easy for busses into the centre.
    Elias
    us

    Review score

    9.6
    25 July 2016
    There are no comments available for this review.